Early-Career Faculty Consortium

AMCIS 2024 continues the tradition of hosting the Early-Career Faculty Consortium. This half-day event will be held on Thursday, August 15, 2024, from 7:30 am to 11:30 am at the conference venue.

The consortium brings together not-yet-tenured faculty, along with faculty mentors, for activities and discussions aimed at supporting participants in finding fulfillment and success in their early careers. Since each career is unique, faculty mentors representing various perspectives and career paths have been invited to provide guidance that applies to a variety of situations. Our breakout sessions and panels will draw on mentors’ experiences to help participants establish a plan to develop a successful research program, become an effective teacher, and find fulfillment and success in their early careers.

In addition, participants are invited to attend the Consortia Welcome Reception on Wednesday, August 14 from 6-7 pm to network with mentors, conference leadership, and other attendees of the Early Career Consortium, Mid-career Consortium, and Doctoral Consortium.

The Grand America Hotel, Salt Lake City

 Thursday, August 15

7:30 AM – 11:30 AM


The consortium is limited to those who have completed their Ph.D. and do not yet have tenure. To participate in the consortium, please add it to your conference registration (limited to the first 25 people who register). We will then contact you directly with more information closer to the conference date.


Wednesday, August 14

Time Activity
06:00 PM – 07:00 PM Consortia Welcome Reception

Thursday, August 15

Time Activity
07:30 AM – 07:45 AM Welcome
07:45 AM – 08:00 AM Introduction to the breakout sessions
08:00 AM – 09:00 AM Research breakout session – How to create a successful research program?
09:00 AM – 10:00 AM Teaching breakout session – How to be an effective teacher?
10:00 AM – 10:30 AM Break
10:30 AM – 11:15 AM Panel – Being successful in your early career
11:15 AM Closing remarks

Early-Career Faculty Consortium Co-Chairs

Jeffrey Jenkins
Brigham Young University

Gondy Leroy
University of Arizona

Chen Zhang
Iowa State University


Reza Ebrahimi
University of South Florida

Spencer Hilton
Brigham Young University

Byron Marshall
Oregon State University

William (Bill) Neumann
University of Arizona

Clay Posey
Brigham Young University

Bengisu Tulu
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Joseph Valacich
University of Arizona

David Wilson
Brigham Young University

Dezhi Wu
University of South Carolina

Ling Xue
University of Georgia

Xia Zhao
University of Georgia